Grading Guides

Your Grading Bill Is Not Your Biggest Cost: The True Cost of Grading Cards

On a 600 dollar graded sale, the PSA fee is only about 29 percent of what the trade actually costs you. Commission, insured shipping in both directions, authentication routing and five months of carry make up the rest. Here is the full stack, priced line by line.

PureGrail Editorial15 min read
Overhead view of a graded trading card slab on dark felt surrounded by shipping paperwork, tape and a loupe under raking light.

Most sellers compute the true cost of grading cards the same wrong way. They read the price list, take the per-card fee, mentally add a stamp, and treat that number as the cost of the trade. Run the arithmetic on a real sale and the fee turns out to be the smaller half of the bill. On a 600 dollar card graded at PSA's new Standard tier and sold on eBay without a store subscription, the grading fee is roughly 60 dollars against roughly 145 dollars of everything else. Grading is about 29 percent of the stack.

That ratio is not a rhetorical flourish. It is the difference between a submission that clears its own costs and one that quietly loses money while the card sits in a queue for five months. Below, every line gets priced from primary fee schedules, and then the stack gets assembled at three price points to show where the ratio flips.

Line one: the grading fee, and why September 2026 changed it

PSA restructured its service levels effective September 14, 2026, and the restructure matters more for what it removed than for what it added. According to Sports Illustrated's report on the reorganization, the lineup now reads:

| Tier | Price per card | Estimate | Max insured value | | --- | --- | --- | --- | | Standard (new) | 59.99 dollars | 90 to 100 business days | 1,000 dollars | | Priority (formerly Regular) | about 79 dollars | 70 to 80 business days | 1,500 dollars | | Express | 199 dollars | 20 to 30 business days | not stated in reporting | | Premier (formerly Walk-Through) | 599 dollars | 7 to 10 business days | not stated in reporting | | Premium levels | from about 999 dollars | 5 to 7 business days | not stated in reporting |

One number is genuinely unresolved in the trade coverage. Sports Illustrated puts Priority at 79.00 dollars; Yahoo Sports reports 79.99 dollars and describes the price as unchanged from the old Regular tier. The gap is a rounding error in a cost stack, but if you are budgeting a large submission, confirm the figure against PSA's own order form rather than against either outlet.

Express is the line that moved hardest: it went from 149 dollars to 199 dollars effective September 9, 2026, a 34 percent increase that PSA framed as protecting the 20 to 30 business day window. Paying for speed now costs a third more than it did in August.

The removal is the bigger story. PSA halted its entire Value lineup (Value Bulk, Value, Value Plus, Value Max) on June 2, 2026, and had not restored it as of mid September. The company has said Value will not reopen until the active backlog falls to 5 million cards. Per Yahoo Sports, that backlog stood at 9.9 million cards on September 8, down from 10.9 million on August 25 and a late July peak near 12.4 million. PSA explicitly described Standard as a first step rather than a Value replacement.

Read that plainly: the sub-20 dollar bulk tier that anchored nearly everyone's mental math is not available, and has not been available for over three months. The entry point for a single card is 59.99 dollars, and the tier that replaced cheap bulk carries the longest turnaround in the entire lineup. Any breakeven calculation you built in early 2026 is stale.

Line two: outbound insured shipping

Postage is trivial. Insurance is not, because it is priced off declared value in steps, and the steps land in exactly the range collectors ship. From USPS Notice 123:

| Declared value up to | Insurance fee | | --- | --- | | 50 dollars | 2.80 dollars | | 100 dollars | 3.50 dollars | | 200 dollars | 4.50 dollars | | 300 dollars | 4.55 dollars | | 400 dollars | 6.05 dollars | | 500 dollars | 7.55 dollars | | 600 dollars | 9.05 dollars | | above 600 dollars | 9.05 dollars plus 1.50 dollars per 100 dollars or fraction |

Standard insurance caps at 5,000 dollars of coverage. For a slab-sized package, Priority Mail retail flat rates start at 12.90 dollars for the standard envelope, 13.65 dollars for the small box and 24.80 dollars for the medium box, so postage plus insurance on a mid-hundreds card lands in the high teens or low twenties before anything else happens.

Above the 5,000 dollar ceiling, or when chain of custody matters more than price, Registered Mail is the instrument. Its fees run 21.50 dollars up to a 100 dollar declared value, 25.00 dollars to 500 dollars, 28.10 dollars to 1,000 dollars, 31.20 dollars to 2,000 dollars, rising to 40.50 dollars at 5,000 dollars and then 40.50 dollars plus 3.10 dollars per additional 1,000 dollars, up to a 50,000 dollar maximum insured value. Domestic Mail Manual 503 is where those coverage ceilings live, and it also notes that Priority Mail Express carries only 100 dollars of automatic coverage, which is nowhere near enough for a graded card on its own.

The practical rule: standard insurance for anything under 5,000 dollars, Registered Mail above it or on any single card whose loss you could not absorb. Do not rely on a carrier's automatic coverage.

Line three: return shipping

PSA bills return shipping per shipment rather than per card, and scales it with the total declared value of the submission. That structure has one obvious implication and one that catches people.

The obvious one: batching is the single biggest lever a submitter fully controls. One return leg spread across twelve cards costs a fraction per card of one return leg on a single card. If you are grading one card at a time, you are paying the worst available rate on this line every time.

The one that catches people: because the charge scales with total declared value, a single high-value card dropped into an otherwise cheap batch reprices the entire return leg. Eleven 80 dollar commons plus one 1,200 dollar key does not cost what twelve 80 dollar commons cost. Sort submissions by value band, not by convenience.

Line four: declared value is a multiplier, not a line item

This is the part of the stack that behaves least like a fee schedule. One number, the declared value you write on the submission form, simultaneously sets your grading tier price, your outbound insurance fee, and your return shipping and insurance charge. It is structurally a double charge, and at tier boundaries it is a triple one.

Take a card you value at 450 dollars versus the same card at 650 dollars. Outbound insurance moves from 7.55 dollars to 9.80 dollars. The return leg rises. And because PSA's Standard tier caps insured value at 1,000 dollars and Priority at 1,500 dollars, a value estimate that climbs far enough forces you off the cheap tier entirely. A 2,500 dollar card cannot ride Standard or Priority at all. The fee ladder is not a free choice at high value; declared value chooses for you.

The obvious temptation is to understate. Do not. Graders reprice submissions to fair market value and bill the difference, which means understating converts a known cost into an unknown one and forfeits the coverage you thought you had bought. Declared-value discipline means estimating accurately and then deciding whether the card is worth the tier that estimate requires, not shading the number down.

Line five: marketplace commission, the line most sellers get wrong

This is the largest line in the stack, and the most commonly understated. eBay's selling fees page sets the final value fee for Sports Trading Cards, Non-Sport Trading Cards and Collectible Card Games at 13.25 percent on the total amount of the sale up to 7,500 dollars per item, plus 2.35 percent on the portion above that, for sellers without a store subscription.

The phrase doing the damage is "total amount of the sale." eBay's fee base explicitly includes the item price, any handling charges, any shipping the buyer pays, and sales tax. It is not 13.25 percent of your item price.

Work it: a 600 dollar card, plus buyer-paid shipping and sales tax bringing the sale total to roughly 650 dollars. A seller quoting themselves 13.25 percent of 600 dollars expects 79.50 dollars. The actual fee is roughly 86 dollars. That 6 to 7 dollar gap repeats on every sale, and on a 2,500 dollar card the same error is worth about 30 dollars.

A store subscription cuts the card rate to 12.35 percent up to 2,500 dollars plus 2.35 percent above that, per eBay's store selling fees. The spread is roughly 0.9 points. That is small per sale and decisive at volume: it is the arithmetic case for a store once annual card sales are meaningful, and it is a lever that costs you nothing to pull beyond the subscription.

Line six: the small fees that collectively matter

Each of these is easy to wave off. Together they are worth a point or more of margin.

  • Per-order fee: 0.30 dollars on orders of 10 dollars or less, 0.40 dollars above 10 dollars.

  • International fee: an additional 1.65 percent for US sellers not using eBay International Shipping when the buyer's address is outside the US. On a 650 dollar sale total that is about 10.70 dollars, and it lands without warning on an otherwise ordinary listing.

  • Promoted listings: whatever ad rate you set, charged on top of the final value fee.

  • Express payout: a flat 2.00 dollars to get funds in roughly 30 minutes instead of waiting out the normal schedule.

Line seven: the Authenticity Guarantee routing tax

For cards at 200 dollars and above, graded or ungraded, eBay's Authenticity Guarantee routes the item through an authenticator, and PSA is that authenticator for trading cards. eBay covers the authentication itself and the tracked leg from the facility to the buyer. The seller pays the leg from seller to facility.

That leg is real money (call it 10 dollars with tracking on a slab) and it appears on no fee schedule. Two further constraints bite: Authenticity Guarantee orders must be shipped individually, so combined shipping is unavailable no matter how many cards one buyer takes, and the process adds days. Authenticators typically inspect within one to two business days of receipt, followed by four-day tracked delivery, and eBay has posted a service notice that some orders may be delayed seven days or more.

If you sell above the 200 dollar threshold, this is a structural cost of the channel and a structural delay in your payout, not an occasional annoyance.

Line eight: carry, the line nobody invoices you for

Build the calendar honestly for a Standard submission:

  • Transit in: a few days.

  • Grading: 90 to 100 business days, which is roughly five calendar months.

  • Transit back: a few days.

  • Listing and sale: however long the card takes to move.

  • Authentication routing if the card sells above 200 dollars: inspection plus four-day delivery, and possibly seven days or more per eBay's own notice.

  • Payout, per eBay's getting-paid documentation: 1 to 2 days for funds to show as available, 2 days to initiate a payout on a daily schedule, then 1 to 3 business days of bank processing. Weekly, biweekly and monthly schedules initiate on Tuesdays.

Six to eight months from mailing to cleared funds is a realistic Standard-tier figure, not a pessimistic one. And eBay can place payout holds for identity verification, W-9 or tax documentation issues, unusual account activity, or negative feedback patterns, which extends the tail unpredictably.

Price that. Treasury bill coupon equivalent rates as of August 27, 2026 were 3.72 percent at 4 weeks and 3.85 percent at both 13 and 26 weeks. Six months at 3.85 percent on 600 dollars is about 11.50 dollars. That is the defensible, non-hand-waved opportunity cost.

Be clear about which carry risk is larger, though. Eleven dollars of foregone interest is a rounding error next to five months of market drift. You are not primarily paying for the interest; you are accepting that the price you underwrote the submission against is five months stale by the time you can act on it. In a soft tape, that is the dominant cost in this entire article.

The full stack: a 600 dollar sale

| Line | Cost | | --- | --- | | PSA Standard grading | 59.99 dollars | | Outbound postage (Ground Advantage, approximate) | 9.00 dollars | | Outbound insurance (600 dollar declared value) | 9.05 dollars | | Return shipping and insurance (per-card share) | 15 to 20 dollars | | eBay final value fee (13.25 percent on about 650 dollars) | about 86.00 dollars | | eBay per-order fee | 0.40 dollars | | Shipping leg to authentication facility | about 10.00 dollars | | Carry, six months at 3.85 percent | about 11.50 dollars | | Non-grading subtotal | about 145 dollars | | Total cost stack | about 205 dollars | | Grading as a share of the stack | about 29 percent |

Where the ratio flips

Run the same exercise at a lower and a higher price point, using the same published schedules, and the shape of the problem changes completely.

A 150 dollar card. Grading is still 59.99 dollars. The eBay fee on a roughly 165 dollar sale total is about 21.90 dollars plus 0.40 dollars. Outbound postage and insurance (4.50 dollars at a 200 dollar declared value) run about 13.50 dollars, and a per-card share of the return leg maybe 10 dollars. No Authenticity Guarantee leg, since the card sits below the 200 dollar threshold. Carry over six months is about 3 dollars. Non-grading costs total roughly 49 dollars against 60 dollars of grading, so the grading fee is now the majority of the stack, and the stack itself eats roughly two thirds of the sale price. At this level the fee does not just dominate the math; it usually kills the trade outright. With Value tiers closed, there is currently no cheap path for cards in this band.

A 2,500 dollar card. Standard caps insured value at 1,000 dollars and Priority at 1,500 dollars, so neither tier is available. Express at 199 dollars is the entry point. The eBay fee on a roughly 2,550 dollar sale total is about 338 dollars. Outbound insurance at a 2,500 dollar declared value sits between the 31.20 dollar (2,000 dollar) and 40.50 dollar (5,000 dollar) Registered Mail steps, or roughly 37.55 dollars under standard insurance. Add the authentication leg, a larger return charge, and a shorter carry period (Express runs 20 to 30 business days, not five months). Non-grading costs land in the low-to-mid 400s against 199 dollars of grading. Grading is back to roughly a third of the stack, and the commission line alone is nearly double the grading fee.

The pattern: at low value, the fee is the problem. At high value, commission and insurance are the problem, and the tier you are allowed to use is dictated by declared value rather than chosen by you.

The decision rule

At 13.25 percent commission on the full sale total, insured shipping in both directions, an authentication routing leg above 200 dollars, and months of carry, a card needs roughly 130 to 150 dollars of post-grade value uplift before a 59.99 dollar Standard submission clears its own costs. That uplift also has to survive a five-month-plus lag between the day you underwrite the decision and the day you can sell into it.

Three levers actually move the stack, in descending order of leverage:

  • Batch size. Return shipping is billed per shipment and scales with total declared value. Larger, value-banded batches are the one line you fully control.

  • Store subscription. Roughly 0.9 points off the card rate, which compounds across every sale once volume is real.

  • Declared-value discipline. Accurate estimates, because the same number sets tier price, both insurance legs, and which tiers you are eligible for at all.

And note the inversion worth carrying away from all of this: the tier that looks cheapest on the price list is currently the one that costs the most in carry. Standard at 59.99 dollars buys a 90 to 100 business day queue. Whether that is a bargain depends entirely on what you think the card's market does over the next five months, which is a question no fee schedule can answer for you.

Sources

Note: This article contains AI-assisted content and has been reviewed in our editorial workflow.

DISCLAIMER: PureGrail articles are for informational and entertainment purposes only. Nothing on this site constitutes financial, investment, or legal advice. Collectibles are speculative assets and values can decrease significantly. Always conduct your own research before buying or selling. Past price performance does not indicate future results.

Share this
Share

Frequently asked questions

How much does PSA grading cost in 2026?

As of the September 14, 2026 restructure, PSA's entry point is the new Standard tier at 59.99 dollars per card with a 90 to 100 business day estimate and a 1,000 dollar maximum insured value. Priority (formerly Regular) runs about 79 dollars, Express is 199 dollars, Premier is 599 dollars, and Premium levels start near 999 dollars.

Why can't I use PSA's cheap Value tiers anymore?

PSA halted its entire Value lineup on June 2, 2026 and had not restored it as of mid September. The company has said Value will not reopen until its active backlog falls to 5 million cards, and that backlog stood at 9.9 million on September 8, down from a late July peak near 12.4 million.

Is eBay's 13.25 percent card fee charged on the item price?

No, and this is the most underestimated line in the stack. eBay applies the 13.25 percent trading card final value fee to the total amount of the sale, which explicitly includes the item price, handling charges, any shipping the buyer pays, and sales tax. On a 600 dollar card with shipping and tax, the fee is roughly 86 dollars rather than 79.50 dollars.

How much value uplift does a card need for grading to be worth it?

Accounting for 13.25 percent commission on the full sale total, insured shipping in both directions, the authentication routing leg above 200 dollars, and carry, a card needs roughly 130 to 150 dollars of post-grade uplift to clear the costs of a 59.99 dollar Standard submission. That uplift also has to survive a five-month-plus lag in market prices.

Should I use standard USPS insurance or Registered Mail?

Standard insurance caps coverage at 5,000 dollars and is priced in steps by declared value, reaching 9.05 dollars at 600 dollars and adding 1.50 dollars per 100 dollars above that. Registered Mail covers up to 50,000 dollars and costs 28.10 dollars at a 1,000 dollar declared value, so it belongs on cards above the standard ceiling or any single card whose loss you could not absorb.

The Newsletter

Keep pulling smart.

Weekly market moves, grading tips, auction highlights.

Keep reading

More in Grading Guides

DISCLAIMER: PureGrail articles are for informational and entertainment purposes only. Nothing on this site constitutes financial, investment, or legal advice. Collectibles are speculative assets and values can decrease significantly. Always conduct your own research before buying or selling. Past price performance does not indicate future results.